Baby blanket · Double knit · Uncategorized

Triangle Baby Blanket

This project took so much longer to create than I’d anticipated! I’m so used to knitting with (super) chunky wool, I forget that double knitting takes a bit (a lot) longer.

I modified Purl Soho’s Four Points Baby Blanket knitting pattern, as I struggled with picking up stitches on the edge of the triangles and found that my efforts to do so were not quite perfect enough! I’m really pleased with how this blanket has turned out, although I won’t be in a rush to recreate it!

Difficulty: Easy-moderate

Gauge: Approx 20 stitches = 4 inches in garter stitch (I don’t usually worry about gauge too much for a baby blanket)

Size of finished project: Approx 28×28 inches

Materials:

  • 4mm circular knitting needles (80cm length) – I used Addi Fixed Circular Needles 80cm
  • 4 different coloured balls of James C. Brett Baby DK 100g – I used colours 1, 2, 3, 5
  • Blunt sewing needle (for sewing in ends)

Pattern:

K=knit; K2tog=knit 2 stitches together

  • Cast on 100 stitches with colour A
  • Row 1 (wrong side): Knit every stitch
  • Row 2 (right side): Knit every stitch until final 2; K2tog
  • Repeat rows 1 and 2 until 1 stitch remains
  • Cut wool and pull through remaining stitch

Repeat pattern for colours B, C and D so that you have 4 triangles

IMG_0194

  • Lay the 4 triangles out to create a square shape, ensuring that the wrong sides are facing you
  • Sew up the edges using mattress/edge-to-edge stitch (whatever suits you better)
  • Sew in loose ends
  • Block if desired – I didn’t

Leave a comment